Staff achievements recognised at annual AAA Awards

Outstanding staff at South Essex College have been recognised at an awards ceremony.

Trophies and certificates were handed out during the college’s annual staff AAA Awards to staff who go above and beyond the call of duty.

Anthony McGarel, Deputy Principal and Chief Executive of the college and Kathy Mulvey, Vice Principal Student Support, presented the awards.

More than 760 nominations were received from students and staff to recognise members of the college across different categories. A total of 31 awards were presented on the day.

Many of the nominations came from students themselves who were keen to thank members of staff who have encouraged and supported them to achieve.

Senior Learning Resource Centre Co-ordinator, Sarah Vadevalloo, was nominated for her caring nature and regard for her work. Her nomination continued: “She is always smiling and ready to help and support, both staff and students and it really feels as though nothing is too much trouble. She is, without exception, always helpful, friendly, pleasant, supportive and polite.”

Another winner, A-Level tutor Fiona Watson, was praised by a student for ‘going above and beyond.’ The nomination read: “I can say with absolute certainty that I would not be capable of, nor would I want to do, the course without her as a teacher. She instils curiosity, the love of learning, and ambition in her students, and is admired and respected by each and every one of us.”

Anthony McGarel, Deputy Principal and Chief Executive handed out the awards and congratulated the recipients.

He said: “It is wonderful to hear so many stories about staff going the extra mile to help students achieve and support colleagues. Everyone plays a crucial part at the college and these awards are an excellent opportunity to recognise great efforts from staff. Congratulations to all our winners.”

Kathy Mulvey from the college’s Senior Leadership Team was also presented with an Outstanding Contribution to the College award, to recognise her 17 years of service.


And the winners are…


Student nominations

Steve O’Shea, Digital Technology, Media and Performing Arts
Karen Davenport, Employability
Nicola Palmer, Foundation Learning
Kirsty Poulton, Employability
Jonathan Bradford, Engineering and Construction
Damien Gearing, Health and Science
Simon Horrocks, Engineering and Construction
Rhys Hawkins, Health and Science
Denise Harley, Service Industries
Jack Bryant, English and Maths
Fiona Watson, A-Levels
Zoe Viscardini, Health & Science
Henry Williams, Additional Learning Support
Maria Swepson, Higher Education
Helen Adeniyi, ESOL


Colleague award
Sarah Vadevalloo, Learning Services
Nikki Hill, Student Services
Ben Aston, Apprenticeships and Subcontracting
Sam Morrison, Health and Science
Helen Sharpe, Apprenticeships and Subcontracting


James Hinton-Lever, English and Maths
Alex Shaw, Marketing and Communications
Gemma Ball, Additional Learning Support


Business Support
Chris Bignell, Computing Services
Glen Pinder, Computing Services
Rosa Reale, Commercial Services


Nicky O’Brein, Employability
Helen Topliss, Health and Science
Hannah Johnson, Art, Design and Business


Team of the Year
Employability Team


Outstanding Contribution to the College
Kathy Mulvey, Senior Leadership Team